This Was My Sport

Hunger Games had nothing to do with it.  When I was in college, this was my sport. My aim was true and fast, and I was good at it.  It was a revelation to me, after trying basketball (and cheerleading, yikes!) in high school to find archery in college. You look, you breathe, you think, you relax, you inhale, you exhale, and then you release.  And, if it’s all right, you hit your mark.  In real life, I think we all just try to hit the mark in a sporadic and sometimes spastic fashion.  We’re thinking about all the things that get in our way or make us angry, or hurt, or devalued.  And because we’re wrapped up in all that stuff that happens before we get to the range, as it were, in our confusion, we pull the wrong arrows from our quiver.  We pick the biggest one or the longest one, or what we think is the strongest one, and  so we miss out on opportunities for finesse and elegance.  We forget about being still.

Click to see master bow-makers. Inspiring!

Having been one for a time, from what I know of archers, they have mastered the art of still.  I was good at it and found peace in the exercise of my skill, but it takes practice to keep that skill honed.  It’s that  breath that is important.  It’s that looking, the thinking, the inhaling in preparation and then the exhale of release that are important.  And when done right, you see the mark as so big that you can’t not hit it.

One Reply to “This Was My Sport”

  1. This: “And because we’re wrapped up in all that stuff that happens before we get to the range, as it were, in our confusion, we pull the wrong arrows from our quiver. We pick the biggest one or the longest one, or what we think is the strongest one, and so we miss out on opportunities for finesse and elegance. We forget about being still.” I love this. Perspective for the day 🙂

Leave a Reply

