I’ve Said it Before…

Every weekend, I find myself trying to reinvent my whole life/fix what’s not working/complete every project on the list, etc.  This weekend, is different, because I’ve got FIVE whole days!  Plus, I’m not going to loose my mind with crazy plans.

image

I’m just going to:

1)  Finish what’s on the needles now (that’s only 3 projects!);

2)  Write up the patterns for two baby sweaters and send them to test knitters;

3)  Finish 2 quilt tops;

4)  Clean the refrigerator  (brought to you by Mrs. Meyers!)

5)  Clean the bathroom.

That’s so manageable within a day or two, right?  The hardest part is going to be getting through today — REALJOB is beating this drumbeat of angst in my ear, reminding me what a meritocracy is, and that I should probably start looking for it!

I got a recruiter call yesterday out of the blue.  I always take them and I always talk to the recruiters because it’s good practice for me, and helps me think in higher-level terms about what I do and what I want to do.  Plus, I like talking to people who actually want to talk to me.  Anyway, she asked me about my career goals and where I want to be in the next little while, and I told her my story about the secret promotions process where I work.  We had a good laugh about it, but it did leave me with an ember burning in my pocket, and it’s kind of getting hot. I don’t think I can wait for the Camino de Santiago walk to do some introspection and make a commitment.  Maybe I’ll spend the last three days of my weekend working on that.

 

2 Replies to “I’ve Said it Before…”

  1. Have you read Wild by Cheryl Strayed? I finished it recently, and while I can’t say my life has been much like hers, her solo backpacking trip on the Pacific Coast trail really resonated for me. I wish I could to the Camino, but I have to save all my vacation time for visiting family – we’re so scattered across this darn continent!

    1. Thanks, Sharon! I’m going to see if I can pick it up for some long weekend reading. (If I can find a bookstore, that is! They’re dropping like flies around here.)

Leave a Reply

