Talk me down

So, I’m at home, working late on a presentation for work, when an email from my boss comes through that makes me want to chuck it all. When you’re not in the day-to-day, the day-to-day seems easy to manage. I’ve never been far enough away from it to forget, though. So, it’s hurting and stinging and all kind of too much to bear when the people who are ostensibly in charge of my career path (or, let’s be real and call it the cul-de-sac that it is) come at me from a frame of reference that denies or ignores the challenge of on-the-ground client service. I wish I could be that woman who gets all fierce and fiery and leaves a situation that’s sucking her soul, and does it with her dignity intact. I responded with an email that was the equivalent of a chain-ganger’s “Ok, boss.”

I think I’m done trying to make this work relationship work. Good on me for trying as long as I did, though. Better on me for keeping my stick on the ice and networking the hell out of the rink these past few months!

Leave a Reply

