Folks Songs Are Awesome

They lend themselves to re-interpretation based on the context:  time, culture, protagonists…

There’s a song I don’t particularly like called, Billy Boy.  You know it, but if you can’t remember it, click on the link in the previous sentence.  I usually change the lyrics to rap music to make up songs for Russell Jenkins, but Billy Boy is another go to.

I mean, look at that fool:

That’s Russell Jenkins on the left and Saul Abramowitz on the right.

He’s a young thing and cannot leave his mother.  Oh, wait — I’m giving it away. So, here’s the Russell Jenkins version of Billy Boy:

Seriously? I think he’s crazy, but here I am rhyming about it… to folk songs!
Leave a Reply

