Gratitude is Always Right

So happy to have been a part of getting 100+ cards signed and sent out to the troops away from home this holiday season.  It was a spur-of-the-moment decision, but when I saw the posting on the Red Cross site, and saw how easy it was to participate, it took one second to decide to join in.  I bought a slew of cards, had a bunch of friends (and even random people) meet at our local Starbucks over the last three days for a coffee and signing, and then sent them off.

I am ashamed that I don’t do a good enough job of keeping up with the nuance of current events.  I listen to the news — my drive time is all news radio and NPR, I watch CNN and even Fox sometimes — but, I don’t participate as actively as I should in current events.  That’s not to say that I think I should be a newsmaker, but that I know I should be better about interrogating the information fed to me daily.

But, I don’t do that.  And so, my opinions about “The War” and about “War” in general are pretty juvenile.  War is bad, we should all get along … blah, blah, blah.  I’m the first to call “PRIVILEGE” on someone else, so here I would be wrong not to do it on my own self, because, that kind of cavalier attitude to information is lazy and all kinds of wrong.  Truth be told, I am privileged because I only have to care kind of.

That said, I do think that I know a little bit about what it’s like to be young and full of ideology and hope and sign up for something based on the promise of its outcome.  (For heaven’s sake, I’m still operating that way now, and I’m way past young.)  I don’t for a minute believe that a lot of these kids –and, they are kids–who make up our Armed Forces thought they’d ever be as in danger and as scared as they are on the daily; I don’t for one minute believe that in their youth, they thought about the consequences that could befall them physically, mentally and spiritually as a result of enlisting in a time of war.  I don’t for one minute believe that many of them didn’t see the military as a way out of and up from civilian situations that were too much to bear.  I don’t for one minute believe that the motivating thought for new enlistees was to kill.  I’d hope, rather, that it was to protect.

I could totally be wrong, and that’s okay.  But, I think I may be closer to right than wrong.  Because I’m in and out of airports on the regular for my job, I see those young people in their uniforms coming from bad or going to it, and it breaks my heart at how young they are and how old they are at the same time.  That’s why the cards were so important to do.  I pray that even one of the cards our group wrote arrives in just the right hands at just the right time.  Keep a good thought that it happens just as it should.

Leave a Reply

