The best laid plans

My sister wants a pair of leg warmers.  Probably the easiest thing in the world to knit — well, maybe second-easiest after wash-cloths.  No big, right?  I started on Saturday with no pattern in mind, just cast on 48, 2 x 2 rib for a while, then stockinette.

Berroco Ultra Alpaca is the best.
Berroco Ultra Alpaca is the best.

Then I thought, I’ll throw in some shaping, and put in a heel so the leg warmers can either be worn on just her legs, or pulled down and wrapped around her heels, too.  Brilliant.  So, this is where we ended up:

Yep ...
Yep …

Starting over, that’s where.  First of all, casting on 48 stitches?  Maybe if she were 8 years old.  A grown woman needs a few more.  And, thinking I’d remember how to do a square heel rather than looking up the math?  I mean, as you can see, the computer was right there … but, no.

Onward and upward.  “A life spent making mistakes is not only more honorable, but more useful than a life spent doing nothing.”  –George Bernard Shaw.  I doubt he was talking about not checking your gauge or not writing down heel math, but I still think it applies.

Leave a Reply

