Lessons

“You can’t have everything and it can’t last forever.” — Roger Ebert.

Just watching the news tonight, and caught this snippet from the too-soon-gone and much-loved critic, husband, best-writer-ever, and inspiration for so many that was Roger Ebert.  The words, they hit a nerve, but in a good way.

If everything isn’t, in fact, possible to grasp, perhaps it’s worth taking a look at the things that are within arms’ reach and figuring out how to make the most of them.  And, if everything you have/do/believe/love won’t actually last forever … well, first of all, was there ever any doubt that that was the case?  Probably not, but we just don’t want to think about the end of all this, even if “all this” isn’t particularly good or inspiring. So, maybe all those gurus, self-help writers, motivational speakers, and Oprahs (<–I don’t care what anyone says, I do love her) who remind us to live in the moment are onto something.

I had a whole different intent for this post — was going to write about the hassle of packing for a trip to Atlanta tomorrow for the final four.  For free.  On a company plane.  With my dog.  I mean, come on, what is my problem?   So, it’s good that the news report and Ebert’s quote sent me off on an appropriate tangent, making  me re-think my first-world issues.  I’m going on a plane, for free, with Russell Jenkins (!) to Atlanta for the weekend, all stays and tickets comped, and I had the audacity (of nope!) to get ready to write a post about how I don’t know what to pack.  I wish I knew how cloning worked so I could build one of me just to kick me hard in the stomach when I forget my luck and my blessings.  Sometimes, I’m a huge jerk.

So, I’m taking a little break.  I’ll see you on the other side of this weekend when I will also share the two winners of the Ryan Gosling tea towels–yes, you, Janelle, and you, Laura–and have a new contest where this time the winner gets my cat! Maybe I should have saved the prize announcement for after the contest …

Anyway, by Monday, I’ll be renewed and have a completely better attitude fueled by my purposeful thinking about appreciating just how good things are, actually.  Because seriously, the world is kind of awesome for the most part.

Yep, there’s Kim Jong-Un, but I don’t think anyone believes he really can successfully shoot a missile anywhere, and plus, the U.S. can just keep sending Dennis Rodman over there to distract him with piercings.  Yes, global warming is real, but why not be bolstered by the actions that so many people are taking to limit waste, reduce our carbon footprint, and be better stewards of the earth, and get motivated to make our own changes, too?  And, for sure, there are people hurting bad here, and around the world as a result of some super-crazy economic and human rights screw-ups that keep getting made, but thanks be and alleluia for the internet for giving us the tools to uncover and share that kind of malfeasance … and more than that, motivate us to action.  Plus, people like Linda Schroeder, Eunique Jones, Junot Diaz, Kimberly Bryant, and you are alive and in the world making it better on the daily.

I think we can be okay.  I’m going to start with making me okay, which means a different way, place, and reason for working, I think.  These next five days, I’m going to take full advantage of a free trip, some time away in a new locale, a hotel gym (no one ever uses those things, so I like to go and pretend I’m rich and it’s my private gym), the Georgia sun–or at least the Georgia not-cold, and people’s sympathy for Russell Jenkins’ perpetually sad face (seriously, even when he’s chasing a squirrel/rabbit, or getting his belly rubbed, that face is just sad.  He is working it, though, and I’m going to leverage that bum face to my advantage, too!)

On day six, I might still complain about stupid shizz here, but you and I will both know that I know that you know that we both know it’s just for comedic value!

Okay, now I gotta’ work on my  test knit for a bit so I at least get one sleeve done, and I gotta’ pack.  And, having to do those things is annoying and also the best gift ever.

Here’s one for you.  His name is Digby Van-Winkle and if you’re having a bad day, you should for sure look at these pictures and be healed.

2 Replies to “Lessons”

  1. Love this. And love you! How does that saying go? Change the way you look at things and the things you look at change. So, that may or may not be correct, but true nonetheless. lol. Safe travels!

    1. “Change the way you look at things and the things you look at change” Whether or not that’s the exact articulation of the quote, it doesn’t really matter. It’s right on, and I think it’s about to be the signature line on my email. Missing you and can’t wait to see you in real life and love you in person!

Leave a Reply

