Have I Really Been Gone THAT Long?

I guess so!  I’m not convinced that a full week has gone by, though.  I’ve nothing much to show for it.  I know I was busy … there was that colonoscopy thing (those drugs!  Yum!), an endoscopy, then some shopping with Mom in Chi-town post-procedures.  And, oh, yeah, I remember staying at the Hyatt for a couple nights, dining with both Mom & Dad a few times and then seeing them off.  But it seems like that was just yesterday.

Time keeps on ticking, ticking, ticking ....
Time keeps on ticking, ticking, ticking ….

I guess not!  Today saw me DRIVING!  I had to make an unscheduled trip to Cincy at the end of last week, and then today, come back.  Ah, Cincy to Chicago!  You minx of a drive, you!  Always so “pert and seductive” — so says the Wikipedia definition — and at the end such a tease.  It always seems like a great idea to drive myself and my little heartbeat Russell Jenkins home in my car, as opposed to flying or taking some other form of transportation that wouldn’t require me to manage it.  Yes, good idea, that.

Here we go!
Here we go!

 

I know not!  Because, then, I get to Indiana … So flat.  Spotty NPR.  Scary windmills. And, my “little heartbeat”, Russell Jenkins in the backseat, snoring to beat the band. And farting.  Bad company in the car, that one.

Seriously, you should close your eyes for the 14 miles of windmills on I-65.  Skeery!
Seriously, you should close your eyes for the 14 miles of windmills on I-65. Skeery!

I know this!  I’m back in my apartment now.  I missed 842 emails while I was driving today.  Many of them were from Zappos, Moveon.org, LivingSocial and DailyCandy, so I think I’m okay, but it sure is a slog to work through them.  There were, sadly, also quite a few from work.  Oh, well, that’s why Jesus invented night-time … so I could work!

This girl knows what's up.
This girl knows what’s up.

I guess … hmmm…. I got some stuff to do, some decisions to make, some bridges to keep from being burnt all up (which reminds me, there was a fire in the building while I was gone!  No one was hurt, but I missed all the excitement … and the opportunity to make a clean break from this joint!)  As ever, here comes Tuesday. Let’s get after it, I guess!

Leave a Reply

