Wha?

It’s midnight on a Saturday.  I should be wearing Spanx and drinking dry white wine at some fabulous industry party at a rich dude’s home with valet parking and passed hors d’oeuvres.  At least that’s what the TV tells me.  (Also, as a side note, I’m pretty pleased with myself that I can spell hors d’oeuvres without having to look it up on dictionary.com.  It’s one of my 11 talents.)

Hey, won't you take me to Funky Town?  Please?
Hey, won’t you take me to Funky Town? Please?

I’m not doing that, though.  I gotsa lotsa work to do!  And if I’m honest, I don’t like wearing Spanx, and I don’t like making chit-chat and why would you encourage people to drive to a party when they’re going to be drinking anyway?  Better for all of us to stay at home and slurp that grog straight out of the box it comes in.

via stayviolation.typepad.com.  Also, sometimes, yes.
via stayviolation.typepad.com. Also, sometimes, yes.

I’m not doing that either, though.  I am so happy to be home and around the hairy heartbeats who, just for today, can’t get enough of me — they are sleeping on top of each other right next to me on the couch.  It’s so hot, but I’m so happy.  So, here we all are, me sweating, them sleeping and I’m making decks and doing catch up work to beat the band.  I’m also, unfortunately, distracted at every turn by my desire not to be working and by the internet! Hence, this post.  Oh, well, if I can just refocus and stay up until 4am, I’ll only be two days behind!  All right!

This bird knows what's up.   Click thru and see him in action.
This bird knows what’s up. Click thru and see him in action.

Much like Shakira’s hips, birds don’t lie.  They tell it like it is.  Am I gonna’ stay up? Nope. But, is everything going to fall apart if I don’t?  Again, nope.

I’m going to try for a while, then pack it in.  And, speaking of packing, tomorrow, I pack!  My daily goal is 10 boxes, so I’m bound and determined to get 20 done tomorrow to make up for today’s laze-fest.  Then, back on the road for some glorious hotel-sleeping, fast-food eating, hotel-gym-intending-to-go-but-not-quite-going travel!

Happiest Weekend!

Leave a Reply

