Magic

The last four days were just the thing at just the time in just the place.  11 ladies (and I MEAN ladies) converged on the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival and it was the best.  Why?

1)  Corn dogs.  Yep.  Wrong on every level and delicious just the same.

1a) Bonus – I only got the regular person size, not the giant corn dog.  Willpower.

2) Funnel Cake.

3) Sheep.  I met a Romney sheep that loved my fingers scratching his chin.  He let me reach over the pen and do it for a solid minute.

iPhone photo -- poor quality, but the cuteness comes through, I hope.
iPhone photo — poor quality, but the cuteness comes through, I hope.

3a) Bonus – the feeling of real life living lanolin and scent of raw wool you get on your hands from scriggling a Romney sheep for a solid minute.

3b) EXTRA Bonus – it’s called a ROMNEY sheep.  The first time I ever loved something with that name.

4) Breaking bread (and popping bottles … kind of –it’s hard to do that with Sauvignon Blanc) with the ladies at dinner on Saturday.

4a, b & c)  BONUS big time.  First, our dinner location, The Sanford Grill (great, by the way) was also the venue of choice for prom-goers.  All those sequins and mermaid dresses gave me a giggle for sure.  Second, during dinner, the table two away from ours was the site of a marriage proposal.  Tremendous.  Third, we were witness to a full on rainbow on the terrace during dinner.  (Stay tuned for a gallery of photos that capture the whole weekend — that one in particular is something.)

If that's not a call to action, I don't know what is.
If that’s not a call to action, I don’t know what is.

5) On Saturday night, Janelle, Deb and I shared a joke that lasted 30 minutes and I laughed so hard that I both cried and got the hiccups.  I can’t think of the last time that much giggly-goodness overtook me that way.  It was everything.

Those wine bottles on the table may have been the catalyst, but it was still the funniest ever!
Those wine bottles on the table may have been the catalyst, but it was still the funniest ever!

6)  Family — all my cousins in D.C./Maryland/Virginia.  ALL of them.  I got and gave a record number of hugs this weekend.  I’m good till June.

Me, wearing the fattest outfit I could find.  Winning!
Me, wearing the fattest outfit I could find. Winning!

7)  Those 11 ladies I mentioned in the beginning.  I mean, love all around.  It broke my heart in a good way to meet people in real life that I’ve loved only in stories and online until now.

The weather was perfect, the company was divine.  I miss it already.
The weather was perfect, the company was divine. I miss it already.

Two other awesome things belong on the list, but they can’t really be public yet.  One was for Chicago TextileWorks, and the other for Public Company.  Both of them hold the possibility of full-fledged entrepreneurship this summer.

So, there’s the story.  Now would be a good time to ask me for a favor.  A big one.  Like helping you move.  I don’t know how long this feeling is going to last, so get in there!

Leave a Reply

