Murder

You guys.  I saw 3 moths today — not the big kind that love your lightbulbs and fly in when you open the front door.  The little kind that might be trying to get at your yarn stash.  I went through and bagged up everything this weekend, and saw 2 skeins with tell-tale signs, but I tossed them out toot de suite.  Hoping these varmints escaped in the Great Yarn Picking and Bagging Adventure of June 2014 and am bolstered by having sent them on to glory (as it were) this evening.  Wish I could channel more of the Buddha and figure out a way to shoo them out of the joint, but I gotta a lot of yarn, y’all, and it’s not the cheap stuff.

Image from bear-ears.blogspot.com
Image from bear-ears.blogspot.com

I should have read this, or this, or this ages ago, I know, but, well, hindsight.  I thought surely, they’re not going to come for me since I spent so much of my hard-earned dollars on that yarn.  I mean, seriously, they must have known my sacrifice and would stay away from my stuff.  Wrong-o.  Now, it’s all picked over and tightly bagged in Ziplocs (even the finished stuff) and I only lost two marginally lovely skeins which isn’t so bad,  so I’m hoping this is the end.  Keep your fingers crossed for me! I wrote before about gnat-smashing and how satisfying it is, but t’s not nearly as satisfying to smash a moth because you got to wonder what they’ve been up to before you found ’em. Bastards!

7 Replies to “Murder”

  1. omg yes went through the same thing last year lost about 16 skeins of yarn and not the cheap stuff most of it hand spun. i put my bags of yarn in the freezer for 5 hours each just to make sure everything was dead.

    1. 16 skeins! You are a stronger woman than I am. I would have been a blubbering idiot! (As opposed to my usual just plain old idiot.) Glad to hear the freezer worked. I was thinking about getting some cedar blocks and/or moth balls, though I hate that smell. Since the freezer worked for you, I think I’ll try that on the stuff I’ve bagged up. I’m still not confident about its safety, since I saw 3 moths after I’d bagged them –hoping they were escapees and their brethren are D-E-A-D! Given my small freezer and love of gelato, it’s going to take me probably a month to get it all done if I have to put them in there for 5 hours. Why did I ever buy this much yarn? Oh, well, it’s worth it to keep my stash safe. Thanks for the comment and sharing your experience. I’ll let you know if I see any more moths, but really, if I do, you’ll probably see me on the national news: “Crazy Woman Screaming and Running the Streets With Rolled-Up Newspaper.”

      1. yeah the five hours was me just being overly paranoid about my yarn stash and yeah I was so mad when it happened seems i brought them home from a lys. i was a blubbering idiot since most of it was NORO

  2. Noro, you say? I have some of that. I think it’s a silk-wool blend, and I know it’s kind of a pumpkin/mustard-yellow color. I’d have to dig through the Rubbermaid tubs to find out exactly where I put it and take a look. If you want it, I’ll send it to you as a thank you for your good advice. If I remember, I have 3 skeins, but I don’t know the yardage. I’ll take a look in the morning and let you know. I’ll also double check for moths and take a picture so you can see what it is — I’ll even be doubly safe and freeze it. If you see the picture and think you think you want it, you can email me your info and I’ll send it out this week. I’d rather it go to a good home than have it sit around in a Zip-loc, because I’m not a Noro fan (knots!) and probably will never use it! (Plus, more space for new yarn if I get rid of what I’ve already got!) See how things work out? The universe is on the side of the knitter, I think.

  3. Hey! It’s Noro Cash Iroha, Color number 95, lot K. It’s 40% Silk, 30% Lamb’s wool, 20% Cashmere and 10% Nylon. I have 3 skeins and they are 91 meters each. They’re yours if you want them. I can’t figure out how to add a picture in the comments, or I would. The bag has been in the freezer (though no moths were visible, and I checked HARD!) since this morning. I’m going into town on Thursday and can mail them out then!

Leave a Reply

