Final Food Feed

This is the last one, I swear.  See previous about the glory I discovered at my local grocery.  They have a huge section of organic and/or locally sourced foods, too, which I perused after my salad bar happiness meltdown.

I wasn’t sure what I’d get, until I saw a vendor with sweet potatoes.  And, they were right next to the cheese display.  And, I thought, “Hmm, universe.  Are you trying to tell me that I should find a way to get my favorite thing (dairy) onto my second favorite thing (potatoes) and make something tremendous?  And, unto me, this gift was given:  Baked Sweet Potatoes + Kerry Gold Butter + Bacon + Bleu Cheese + Maple Syrup.

sweet potato

(Photo credit:  happyherbivore.com)

Don’t make me say it again.  Here’s how it works:

1)  Wash your sweet potatoes  (NOT yams, you need sweet potatoes)

2)  Cut off all the weird bits and squigglyness.

3)  Wrap them in foil.

4)  Put them in the oven and turn the heat up to 350 degrees

5)  Wait. Wait and check every 20 minutes, but just wait.  When you squish the foil and it feels like the potato has given up, you’re done.

6)  Remove the potatoes from the oven and set them to cool.  Not too long, just until you can handle them without going, “Ooh, ah, ouch, mama, sonofaxxx”.

7)  Get ’em outta the foil and slice them down the middle.

8)  Put a generous pat of Kerry Gold Salted butter in the opening you’ve made.  Here, two things to note:  a) get your head out of the gutter waiting for me to make some obvious innuendo about this action; and, 2)  if you’re not using Kerry Gold butter, throw the whole thing in the garbage.  Kerry Gold is all there is, and stop using anything else, ever.

9)  Calm down from me yelling at you in step #8

10) Mush the butter around inside the potato, then add a half handful of bleu cheese, and mush it around a bit, but not too much

11)  Add a half handful of cooked, drained, crisp bacon.  Do not mush.

12)  Pour ~ 2 tablespoons of maple syrup over the whole shebang.  Here, I mean MAPLE SYRUP — the kind where, when you’re in the syrup section at the grocery store, you go, “Why is this 8x the price of this other thing called ‘pancake syrup’?”  Because it’s worth it.  Get it.  You can use it on pancakes, waffles, or, I’m betting, more baked sweet potatoes with bleu cheese and bacon.

Tomorrow, we knit!

Leave a Reply

