Hard Times

When it rains, it pours. It’s interesting to me that the universe conspires in ways that could be okay later, but that don’t make a lot of sense when you’re on the ground dealing with the stuff. It seems like instead of parsing out the angst, we get it all at once from friends, family, sisters, colleagues, people whom we love and for whom we wish the best.
 
This week hasn’t been  the best week for the people whom I hold most dear, let alone me. But, I feel like maybe the thing to take away from it is how we learn to not rank one person’s struggle over another’s. Pain is pain. Yours is just as hurtful to you as mine is to me, so let’s hear each other instead of trying to win the battle of your suffering vs. mine.
 
There is grace in appreciating and supporting a friend in need while you’re in need at the same time. I hate that it’s happening, but am all kinds of grateful for the opportunity to step up on the left and be lifted up on the right.
I had an idea for the upcoming Make.Do. kits and was all ready to package and present it to the subscribers.  But, today.  Today made me think about doing something completely different.  I’m not sure of the answer, but the question I asked was, “What can my hands do to heal my heart and the people that touch it?”
That needs some time to settle so I can deliver something that moves you beyond the making. I’m hoping to send November kits that are, of course, fun and engaging and make you think.  But, really, I want you to open the box and be moved. If I’m honest, I want you to cry (in a good way!)  So, give me a bit to re-think the CTW Kits this month.  I promise it’ll be worth it!
Leave a Reply

