My Atom is Your Atom

For, every atom belonging to me, as good belongs to you. — Walt Whitman

I’ve been working on a piece of writing for a presentation at an upcoming branding conference.  I’m still working it out, but the presentation is going to be about witness marks.  Typically, these marks are made by a repair or crafts-person so that the next repair- or crafts-person who comes along will know that a particular piece of equipment goes in a particular space.  Largely they’re used in things like automotive manufacturing and in clockworks.  And, they can be accidental, or caused by the natural wear that comes with use.  The words “witness mark” make me feel … I don’t know? Nostalgic?  A little melancholy?  I’m not exactly sure how to name that feeling.   There is something about the idea of there being a physical, tangible trace of the hands that were there first that gives me goosebumps.

Anyway, I’m working on writing that presentation (but not very hard since the deadline is weeks away) and in looking for good source and reference material, I keep finding myself falling down internet rabbit hole after internet rabbit hole.  The good news is since the deadline is a ways out, I can spend some time exploring before I really get down to work.  The fruits of today’s exploration can be found here.

I don’t know why, but I found myself more than a little misty-eyed as I watched several of the videos.  Maybe it was the surprise at finding they weren’t the hokey cheese-fest I’d expected. Maybe I forgot how I loved Walt Whitman when I was younger.  Maybe (just maaaaaaaaaayyyyybe) I miss the south a little, teeny, tiny bit.

Probably all three.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

